National Coat of Arms

The national coat of arms is identical to the coat of arms of the Princely House. It was introduced as the national coat of arms in 1957. Its current form is set out in a law dating back to 1982. The large coat of arms shows six motifs related to the history and origins of the Princely House. The small coat of arms is the family coat of arms of the Princely House showing a red and gold shield below the Princely Hat. This small coat of arms is used, among other things, on the township name signs and on car license plates.


The coat of arms is divided into four with chapé at the base, charged with per fess and gules all over. The individual shields united in the large coat of arms indicate the history of the Princely House:

  • the family shield of the Princely House is per fess or and gules
  • the Silesian shield is or an eagle sable, crowned, armed or, charged with crescent trefly argent ending in crosses
  • the shield of the Kuenringe is a barry of 8 pieces or and sable charged with crancelin vert
  • the shield of the Duchy of Troppau is per pale gules and argent
  • the shield of East Fresia or Rietberg is or a maiden eagle sable with head argent, crowned, armed or
  • the shield of the Duchy of Jägerndorf is shown chapé azure a bugle-horn or stringed or
  • the shield is surrounded by the Princely Cloak (mantle) crowned with the Princely Hat, purple with ermine lining.

National Flag

The most well known state symbol of Liechtenstein is the blue and red national flag set as two horizontal bands of equal size, the top being blue with a crown-like symbol depicting the Princely Hat. The origins and meaning of the flag are still not entirely clear. It may have been inspired by the uniforms worn by members of the Princely Court in the 18th century. The Princely Hat was added to the flag in 1937 in order to prevent it being confused with the national flag of Haiti.

Political System, Constitution

The principality is a constitutional, hereditary monarchy on a democratic and parliamentary basis; the power of the state is embodied in the reigning prince and the people and is exercised by both un- der the conditions set forth in the provisions of the constitution (Article 2 of the constitution).


Head of State

Prince Hans-Adam II. von und zu Liechtenstein, Duke of Troppau and Jägerndorf, and Count of Rietberg. On November 13, 1989 he succeeded his father, Prince Franz Josef II following his death.
On 15 August 2004, Prince Hans-Adam II. has entrusted his son, Hereditary Prince Alois to exercise his sovereign powers in accordance with the constitution as his representative.



The Liechtenstein parliament, called Landtag, consists of 25 members. It exercises its rights during the sessions of the entire parliament. The Liechtenstein parliament is small in international comparison.



In accordance with the constitution, the government is a collegial body consisting of the head of government and 4 members, all nominated by parliament and appointed by the Prince.



Civil and criminal cases are heard initially by the Princely Court of Justice (Landgericht), at appeal by the High Court (Obergericht) and at Supreme Court level by the Supreme Court (Oberster Gerichtshof). Public law cases are dealt with by the Administrative Court and the Constitutional Court (Staatsgerichtshof). The courts are all located in Vaduz.






38’111 (as of December 31, 2017)



The official language is German. Most speak an Allemannic dialect of German.



The official currency in Liechtenstein is the Swiss franc (CHF).



80.4% of the population is Roman Catholic and 7.1% Protestant; 12.5% belong to other religions.


National Holiday

August 15



160.5 km²


Geographical indications

Highest elevation: Grauspitz 2,599 metres above sea level


Lowest elevation

Ruggeler Riet 430 metres above sea level


Extreme Dimensions

Longest distance 24.6 km, widest distance 12.4 km


Geographical Location

between 47° 16‘ 14“/47° 02‘ 54“ north latitude and 9° 28‘ 18“/9° 38‘ 08“east latitude


Neighbouring Countries

Switzerland and Austria



Total 76 km, of which 41.1 with Switzerland (Canton St. Gallen 27 km; Canton Grisons 14 km) and 34.9 with Austria (Vorarlberg)